When does child support end in Florida? This is one of many questions of parents who are paying monthly child support payments. In Florida, This obligation automatically ends when a child reaches the age of 18 as many U.S. states or other regulations exist. Following Censusoutreach’s article below to explore this topic
Understanding Child Support Laws in Florida
Child support pays for your child’s upkeep, maintenance, education, and other necessary expenses. Parents are bound by a legal and moral commitment to support their children’s needs and upkeep, therefore they cannot refuse to pay court-ordered child support.
What is the Florida child support payment cutoff date?
In Florida, the end of child support shall not be fixed. Each of these different case will have a different end time. Such as:
End of Child Support at Age 18
If one of the following situations applies, the noncustodial parent may decide to stop paying child support before the child turns 18:
- The child marries
- The child engages in the U.S. military
- The child becomes independent or emancipated
- The child dies.
Child Support Ending at Age 18
According to the Florida law governing child support, unless the parties agree differently, monthly support payments will stop when the child is 18 years old. If there are many children involved, the monthly child support obligation will diminish proportionately when each child reaches the age of 18. The final child support court order should include all of these dates. These dates should all be set out in the final court order addressing child support.
Support for Children Ends at Age 19
If certain conditions are met, child support may be continued until the age of 18, sometimes even until the child is 19. These instances vary depending on the child’s age at the time of high school graduation, as follows:
- Support stops when a child’s 18th birthday if they complete high school before.
- Support terminates after the child graduates from high school, even if they are under 19 and over 18.
- Child support ends on the 19th birthday if the child graduates after turning 19
- If a child is not on schedule to complete high school by age 19, funding ceases on his or her 18th birthday.
Continued Child Support After the age of 19
If a child has exceptional requirements that make them dependent such as mental or physical incapacity. Florida law permits child support to continue through the age of 19—and maybe indefinitely.
In this case, if your child has special needs previous to the child support order. Make sure the situation of prolonged support is correctly addressed.
You should always request a modification of the order that will get rid of the initial termination date because of special requirements if a kid becomes incapable at a later time but before becoming 18 years old.
You are unable to request continued child support once your child turns 18, even for dependence.
Determinations of child support are crucial for ensuring that your children get the upbringing they deserve. If you are contemplating divorce, getting child custody, or want to change an existing child support agreement. Do not hesitate to contact an experienced family law attorney or law firm to receive a consultation.